Hello world!

I’ve taken the plunge. Many prompts and nagging thoughts made me do it. I need to start a reflective  learning  log for my Master’s. This is long overdue. I could have written in a scrappy diary which would no doubt get used for writing shopping lists or notes to schools or piano teacher. Or it could end up in one of the children’s schoolbags. Potentially never to be seen again.

Also Alan Hamilton made me think – he said he started blogging out of a sense of  moral responsibility as he’d read and benefitted from so many other people’s blogs he felt it was time to give something back himself. That struck me as a really good reason to do it. So here I am. If you are reading this you’ll need to help me – I will probably thrash around hopelessly for a while so please be patient with me.  Hopefully something of sense will eventually emerge…..

About catrionao

I'm a PhD student at Stirling University, studying a school based practice of teacher professional learning. I also do online facilitation for various organisations such as SELMAS and the Strategic Leadership Development Programme.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hello world!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. Catriona! Welcome to the blogging world. I am still thrashing around hopelessly but having fun at the same time.

    I look forward to learning from your thoughts, and hopefully contributing some of my own from time to time.

    Enjoy,

    Alan

  3. literacyadviser says:

    Hi Catriona,
    Welcome to the world of blogging. There will be no stopping you now.
    I think your idea of a MacCaig celebration pubmeet is a good one. Perhaps you could write a post on the subject and start to spread the word.

    Best wishes
    Bill

  4. catrionao says:

    Thank you very much chaps – I feel like I will need a bit of hand holding for a while but will get there!

  5. Hi there Catriona.

    Been following you on Twitter for a while, but never knew that was your name – how bad is that???

    I’ve had a blog for about 3 years now, but I’m *still* just getting into it. Think I had one post in my first year, three or four the next and then 13 posts last year. I’m hoping to beat that this year!!!! Hoping my colourful new theme will help as much as anything I actually say.

    Think my advice would be not to worry too much about making every post lengthy. I’m going to make a real effort this year to post more often, but to keep the majority of them short and sweet.

    Oh yeah, don’t be shy about telling people you have a blog – on Twitter especially. And if you’re reading blogs and not using Reader or similar, you should check it out.

    Look forward to reading what you have to say, and loving the name of the blog!!!

Leave a Reply

